Forgotten Password


Carlisle and Windscale triumph at cup finals

Carlisle A and Windscale B each beat Wigton sides to win this year’s county cup competition. This year it was hosted by Windscale at the Falcon Club in Egremont. Both finals combined quality with tension, and each was decided on the last match.

In the A final, the first four matches were shared evenly between the teams, with both sides giving a fine exhibition of squash. Will Box’s final game victory over Alystair Miller set up a deciding match beteen the No.1s – Jonny Irving of Wigton and Simon Gray of Carlisle. Advantage in the match switched regularly between the players, before a tense final game when Simon’s tenacity told and he secured the cup for Carlisle.

Winning Carlisle team - Simon Gray, Damian Whelan, Mike Rayson, Will Box, Phil Sanderson

In the B final, there was a good opening from Wigton’s two teenagers, who won their matches to put Wigton 2-0 up in the tie. But the momentum in the tie began to shift when Ian Richardson played the match of his season to beat Bruce Kemp 3-1, and Steve Walker beat Andrew Thwaite in straight sets to level the tie at 2-2. In the final, deciding match of the team No. 1s, David Benson came back from 1-0 to beat James Salisbury 3-1 and secure the cup for the home team. Windscale team captain, Ian Richardson, said “It was a great game, and I didn’t know if we could come back from 2-0 down, but everyone in the team played fantastic squash.”

Winning Windscale team: Steve Walker, Craig Richardson, David Benson, Ian Richardson, Glyn James

Final results:

A final
Carlisle A   Wigton A
Name   Scores   Name
Simon Gray 3 15-10 4-15 13-15 15-10 15-4 2 Jonny Irving
Phil Sanderson 1 14-16 13-15 15-13 12-15   3 David Jackson
Will Box 3 13-15 15-9 15-9 11-15 15-11 2 Alystair Miller
Damien Whelan 0 11-15 8-15 14-16     3 Chris Murdock
Mike Rayson 3 12-15 15-9 15-10 15-13   1 Stephen Murdock
B final
Windscale B   Wigton B
Name   Scores   Name
David Benson 3 15-17 15-12 15-6 15-11   1 James Salisbury
Steve Walker 3 16-14 15-12 16-14     0 Andrew Thwaite
Ian Richardson 3 15-9 15-9 10-15 15-12   1 Bruce Kemp
Craig Richardson 0 8-15 10-15 14-16     3 Jake Twentyman
Glyn James 0 13-15 12-15 14-16     3 Jonny Christian


Comments are not activated