Carlisle and Windscale triumph at cup finals

Carlisle A and Windscale B each beat Wigton sides to win this year’s county cup competition. This year it was hosted by Windscale at the Falcon Club in Egremont. Both finals combined quality with tension, and each was decided on the last match.

In the A final, the first four matches were shared evenly between the teams, with both sides giving a fine exhibition of squash. Will Box’s final game victory over Alystair Miller set up a deciding match beteen the No.1s – Jonny Irving of Wigton and Simon Gray of Carlisle. Advantage in the match switched regularly between the players, before a tense final game when Simon’s tenacity told and he secured the cup for Carlisle.

Winning Carlisle team – Simon Gray, Damian Whelan, Mike Rayson, Will Box, Phil Sanderson

In the B final, there was a good opening from Wigton’s two teenagers, who won their matches to put Wigton 2-0 up in the tie. But the momentum in the tie began to shift when Ian Richardson played the match of his season to beat Bruce Kemp 3-1, and Steve Walker beat Andrew Thwaite in straight sets to level the tie at 2-2. In the final, deciding match of the team No. 1s, David Benson came back from 1-0 to beat James Salisbury 3-1 and secure the cup for the home team. Windscale team captain, Ian Richardson, said “It was a great game, and I didn’t know if we could come back from 2-0 down, but everyone in the team played fantastic squash.”

Winning Windscale team: Steve Walker, Craig Richardson, David Benson, Ian Richardson, Glyn James

A Final – Carlisle A v Wigton A

Name (Carlisle)ScoresName (Wigton)
Simon Gray315-104-1513-1515-1015-42Jonny Irving
Phil Sanderson114-1613-1515-1312-15 3David Jackson
Will Box313-1515-915-911-1515-112Alystair Miller
Damien Whelan011-158-1514-16  3Chris Murdock
Mike Rayson312-1515-915-1015-13 1Stephen Murdock

B Final – Windscale B v Wigton B

Name (Windscale)ScoresName (Wigton)
David Benson315-1715-1215-615-111James Salisbury
Steve Walker316-1415-1216-14 0Andrew Thwaite
Ian Richardson315-915-910-1515-121Bruce Kemp
Craig Richardson08-1510-1514-16  3Jake Twentyman
Glyn James013-1512-1514-16 3Jonny Christian