County championships 2014: Report

Paul Bell won his sixth county championship title in a thrilling match beating clubmate Simon Gray 3-0, who produced a valiant display in pursuit of Cumbria’s top title.

The men’s B competiton produced arguably the match of the night when Carlisle players Damien Whealam and Michael Bell clashed. In a high quality and very close match, Damien stormed to a 2-0 lead, only for Mike to battle back to 2-2. A tight decider ensued with neither players seeming like they wanted to win it, a series of nail-biting tie breaks followed. Damien manged to edge ahead only to serve out on match point. However, he composed himself to clinch a thrilling final set.

Two juniors  – Jackson Holliday (Windscale) and Ben Hetherington (Carlisle) battled out the C competition. Again a high quality game of squash was on show with Jackson looking to avenge the 3-0 defeat he suffered at the hands of Ben two weeks earlier in the Carlisle Junior Open. Ben however, was too strong on the night and took the match 3-0.

Carlisle’s rising star Keane Appleton won the D event against the experienced Trevor Musson 3-1. Keane has been impressing everyone in the county recently with some stellar displays but Trevor was also riding a wave of momentum as part of the Cumbria over 60’s team that became national champions.

Youth prevailed over experience for Wigton’s James Wilkinson who beat Carlisle’s Graham Coulthard 3-0 in the ‘E’ final, clinching the clubs first trophy of the night. Clubmate Adam Gill followed suit by wining the ‘F’ in a close game against Carlisle player Joe March.

The Bell family scooped their second trophy of the night when Victoria Bell beat Whitehaven’s Sarah Frain 3-0 in the women’s final.

The county committe would like to congratulate all the winners and thank Ronnie Bell and Carlisle Squash Club once again for their outstanding hospitality.

Full list of results:

A: Winner – Paul Bell (Car), RU Simon Gray (Car)

Women’s: Winner Victoria Bell (Car), RU Sarah Frain (Whi)

Women’s plate – Kelly Brisco (Car), RU Claire Glarvey (Car)

A plate: Winner – Dave Box, RU Tony Hetherington (Car)

B: Winner – Damien Whealan Car), RU Michael Bell (Car)

C: Winner – Ben Hetherington (Car), RU Jackson Holliday (Win)

C plate: Winner – Dave Lindsay (Car), RU Troy Beattie (Car)

D: Winner – Keane Appleton (Car), RU Trevor Musson (Car)

D plate: Winner Brian Davis (Car), RU Steven Gill (Wig)

E: Winner – James Wilkinson (Wig), RU Graham Coulthard (Car)

E plate: Winner – Dave Norwood (Car), RU Elio Garden (Car)

F: Winner – Adam Gill (Wig), RU Joe March (Car)

F plate: Winner – Andy Smith (Car), RU Craig Drinkald (Car)